From Shakespeare to Pantomime!

Playing Deirdre – The Villain!

Well I had so much fun with “A Midsummer Night’s Dream” that my family and I auditioned for the Pantomime at Ludlow Assembly Rooms, Robin Hood.

We all got parts! My two youngest daughters played “Villagers” who became Robin’s “Band of Merry Men, Women, Girls and Boys”, my husband played “Alan a Dale ” the Minstrel of the crew, whose music filtered through the panto, from Lullabies to the Hokey Cokey to the theme “Robin Hood, Robin Hood, riding through the glen”

I had the extreme fortune to be cast as the Sheriff’s Mom – Dierdre. It was amazing to play the baddy! The driving force behind the Sheriff’s evilness, yet still washing and ironing his pants on a daily basis, while “thinking of wicked schemes”.

The script was written by Simon Bolton of the acclaimed Ludlow company “Rooftop Theatre” and it was a pleasure to work with him and Paul Sayers, especially after seeing their fabulous version of “Hamlet” last year.

The younglings from Go MAD in Ludlow (of which I am co-leader with Simon DeVay) were mostly involved as villagers too, so it was wonderful to see them growing with the production and help them overcome backstage nerves.

It was just fabulous to work with Simon on a production too, we have been working together with the “MADlings” since May 2016, but to be onstage doing proper acting with him was just fab, seeing as he’s in 30% of my DVD collection, having been in Merlin, Sherlock, Being Human, among many others. I think, that he, Andy Bainbridge (who played the cat with purrrrfection)  and myself just made the most wonderful villainous trio, so thanks to you both for helping me unleash my darker side, MWAH HAA HAA!

villains

So that all happened last year, rehearsals started in November, and the run was 8 shows over 5 days in December.

So 2017 is now into Febraury, I have storytelling adventures to be going on, and will be trying to keep you up to date with them as they happen!

But for now, a belated Happy New Year, and I look forward to sharing more adventures with you in 2017

One final thigh slap, Huzzah and a wicked laugh for good measure!

HUZZAH!

 

 

Leave a Reply

